What No One Tells Recent Data Graduates About Job Applications

Akanksha
CodeX
Published in
6 min readNov 11, 2022

--

Here’s the thing. I started applying for jobs in Aug 2021 and hardly got any response until I started doing the things below in Jan 2022. Once I followed these steps I started getting calls and Interviews got lined up.

Ideally, this blog could be a generic approach toward job applications, however since I am sharing my experience, the details would be mostly around data-related roles. However, I feel like the approach would look very similar even if I had to apply for a non-data role as well.

Let’s start with my background. I am an Engineer, who worked in Product- Marketing Analytics for about 3 years. I then pursued MS in Business Analytics with a focus on AI and graduated in Dec 2021.

Since I squeezed my coursework and graduated in 3 semesters instead of 4, I was hardly able to focus on my job search during my final semester. Despite sending out applications I hardly got any response. So post-graduation, I applied for jobs full-time, and I structured my approach by breaking down the process into chunks and conquering them one by one.

I treated this process of applying for jobs like I had approached the problem of optimizing a sales funnel in one of my previous jobs.

Job Application Funnel

--

--

Akanksha
CodeX
Writer for

Data Scientist | Machine Learning | Insights in data science on latest model releases and key research papers