Why FAANG might not be good for your career?

Ugur Yagmur
CodeX
Published in
4 min readNov 13, 2022

--

FAANG… Facebook, Apple, Amazon, Netflix, and Google… Also, Microsoft (I think it’s the best of them right now). These companies are the dream of every software engineer’s career; especially if they are in their early career stage. But does it really worth it?

Firstly, we should understand why these big tech companies are preferred that much to work in. The answer is simple: They’re paying well and when you have such an experience in your CV, you seem more successful and your success rate with other companies is getting higher. For instance, if you decide to work in a startup in return for company shares and you have big tech companies in your CV, most probably you can get more shares.

Generally, when we hear such things, we get amazed and we want to be a part of them. Until recently, I was such a person. I participated in interviews for big companies to be hired and earn a great salary. However, I had question marks moving in my head during the interviews. Generally, the positions I was being interviewed for were not interesting to me. For instance, I had an interview with Amazon for a position in their advertising system, and when I read the job description, I didn’t want to…

--

--