Why I Didn’t Like Testing

Several years ago I was very frustrated, everyone talked about testing, TDD, etc. It was pointless to me. This is how my perspective changed.

David Rodenas PhD
CodeX

--

Photo by Brett Jordan on Unsplash

What has TDD and testing that it has so hype? Maybe you are like me ten years ago, you see testing and TDD as something more costly than rewarding. I remember going to lots of meetups, talking about testing, about DRY, about testing libraries, JUnit, Mocha, Chai, Jasmine, … but no one showing why I should do testing.

That was me. I even remember, after some meetups, making drinks with the speakers and talk about that. I really asked interested about testing, I really wanted to know what is behind testing that made so many people love it. But it did not work. They illustrated examples about how tests would work, and, after some reflection, I did not see the point. Or worse, in some cases, even the speakers began to be reluctant to testing.

The lowest point of my appreciation for testing was, while working in a company, when they hired someone who claimed to be the best engineer. This new rock star engineer entered talking about clean code, testing, etc. He was strict, full of confidence, but somehow, sometimes, what he said felt wrong. But the worst part was dealing with his code, difficult to read, and with dangerous…

--

--

David Rodenas PhD
CodeX
Writer for

Passionate software engineer & storyteller. Sharing knowledge to advance our skills. Join me on a journey of discovery in the world of software engineering.