Hello World

Tom Drapeau
Codifying
Published in
2 min readAug 1, 2024

--

Good morning, party people! It has been a long while since I posted here on Medium. Today I’m getting back to it. The last time I posted, I was just getting started working as a Director of Engineering at Squarespace — a truly great place to work. I spent four great years there, wrapping up at the end of 2023.

Also over the course of the past year, I had WLS (weight loss surgery), specifically the sleeve gastronomy aka gastric sleeve surgery, and am now literally “half the man I used to be”.

Me. Tom Drapeau.

Also, I identified a drinking problem, joined a 12-step program and a support program to help, and am grateful and happy to say I’m in recovery from that. As part of that process, I’ve moved to White Plains, NY where I am experiencing a rebirth — I look like I did graduating high school from Concord Academy in Concord, MA back in 1993, but with 30 years of hard earned experience in the fields of software engineering and leadership, from teams to groups to divisions, supporting groups as large as 150 at Squarespace and revenue targets nearing $1B.

Today, August 1st, is the first day of the rest of my life. I am focused, energized, spiritually, mentally and physically. I have a great small place in downtown White Plains, NY, where I am steps from the downtown area with all of the cuisine and activities one could hope for, as well as the Koi creative space on 44 Mamaroneck Avenue, where I have an office for my brand, Tom D’s Foolery LLC.

Sunrise seen from my balcony

As Tom D’s Foolery’s owner & CEO, I offer business and technical consulting, social media and podcasting services locally in Westchester, as well as globally via remote. I am excited to share all that I have learned in my years with business owners both small and large.

In the days and weeks to come, you’ll hear more from me on this platform as well as on LinkedIn, X and Substack. I was born in Boston, MA; raised in Ayer, MA; apprenticed in Manhattan while living in the Bronx, NY and the UWS in Manhattan; but can truly say I was Made in White Plains.

Made in White Plains

--

--