How Pure CSS Images Helped Me Understand React Components

Michael Mangialardi
Coding Artist
Published in
12 min readJun 6, 2017

--

In early 2016, I got so fatigued while trying to learn React that I almost gave up on being a developer. Impostor syndrome consumed me. Now, I am a full-time React developer and author of React.js for the Visual Learner.

How did I overcome impostor syndrome and finally learn React? There are a few reasons but one of the most significant ones was learning how to make pure CSS images.

Sinking Into Impostor Syndrome

In December of 2015, I graduated with a degree in Computer Science and wasn’t quite sure what in the world of development to focus on. After some exposure to entrepreneurial podcasts, I was fascinated by the fresh aroma of startups that had created revenue streams by making web applications. For that reason, I finally set a goal for myself to become a web developer.

As I researched modern web development, I realized that it was totally different than what I was taught in my formal education. My brief knowledge of HTML, CSS, JavaScript, and PHP looked totally different than all of these JavaScript frameworks that people were talking about. I saw a lot of buzz around React and…

--

--