My journey so far…with Coding Blocks

Sharannyo Basu
Coding Blocks
Published in
5 min readNov 9, 2020

“The journey of a thousand miles begins with a small step” — Lao Tzu

By no means getting selected as a Campus Ambassador of Coding Blocks is a small feat. After all you are getting the chance to represent a highly reputed brand in your college. I am writing this to let you know exactly how the present journey of 6 months at Coding Blocks has influenced me overall in my college life.

The start :

It was mid-April, the whole country rocked by the Coronavirus pandemic and students confined to their respective homes. I was a shy guy then, so the idea of staying home for an extended period did not disappoint me.

But I wanted to come out of my comfort zone. I always believed that I can do more than just college studies. I wanted to be noticed for my works, and without socializing it would not have helped. I went through the Coding Blocks website after a friend of mine recommended one of their courses. Instantly I realized the vision they had and I could relate my goals to it in some way or the other. I felt I can be a part of this environment. I realized my profile would fit the bill. I applied for the Campus Superhero Program on the second week of April.

I had the confidence of getting selected as I knew I would be a good fit. Before this I was never a part of any major team or organization where I would develop my skills and influence others. I had a goal in mind, so I took the first step by filling the application.

Selection Procedure :

I filled the form, clearly stating why do I find myself fit into this system, in which ways I can bring changes and help promote the activities of CB.

In a week, Jatin Virmani, community manager at Coding Blocks approved my appication and I was told to expect a call sooner or later.

In about 3–4 days, I got a call from Sohail Pathan, one of the current Program Managers of the Superhero Program. We had a very informative talk about the vision of CB, what my roles should be and how I should implement ideas at ground level. I knew I was gonna get selected as I never messed up.

Selected !

So I was selected with the offer letter recieved on 25th April.

This was the first time I was associated with any organization as a campus ambassador. What followed was a great run of eventful activities.

The journey so far…

I have organized several workshops for not only the students of Chandigarh University but also for the ones in my network. I managed to rake in more than 2000 registrations alone, a figure I never expected to touch when all this started. I generated leads for the organization, playing a part in forging partnerships and also participated in several events, winning the meme battle and being recognized as Workshop Marketing Manager for the month of September.

In the process I made new friends and realized that there is a lot one can give to himself other than good grades. My managing skills developed immensely, I started building self-confidence, my communication skills soared and I also developed a healthy and competitive work relationship with the other superheroes, working with them, delegating tasks and helping them with whatever they need.

About my mentor(s) :

As I said, I was under the mentorship of Sohail bhaiya, and boy did he make life so easy for me from the very start. A very down to earth individual, who helped me with my tasks and academics, Sohail bhaiya makes up for an ideal mentor to seek guidance from when life goes wayward.

Find Sohail Pathan on LinkedIn here

I also had the privilege of working with Jatin Virmani. Jatin bhaiya helped me with whatever tools I wanted to help CB grow and gave me the support and backing that definitely boosted my confidence and morale. A great person to work with.

Find Jatin Virmani on LinkedIn here

Why be a part of CB’s Superhero Program ?

The first and foremost benefit of being a campus superhero of Coding Blocks is that it will help you realize the bigger picture, get an idea of what the competition is all about and it will make you grow as a team player first, then eventually as a leader.

The program is rewarding as well ! If your performances are right up there at the top, you will be awarded with discount coupons upto 100% off. I got 4 already and plan to steal more XD. And yes, SWAGS. I am yet to recieve swags as institutions are closed at the time of writing but being a part of CB is itself a wonderful journey, the prospect of getting swags as a reward of your efforts is like the icing on the cake.

Lastly, you’ll get a big exposure to the job market and will help you get ready with your interviews and exams. The fellow superheroes are awesome. They push me to work harder and seeing them put their efforts, it just motivates me.

Conclusion :

If you are into college and want to build your leadership and management skills, CB Superhero program is a great first step. If one makes full use of this opportunity, it might shape his/her future. Not the hardest programs to get selected into, this serves as a golden opportunity to stand apart from the crowd and stamp your authority as one of the better and brighter minds in campus.

I am particularly very happy to be associated with Coding Blocks and I would love to help the community for many more years to come.

Head to the CB Superhero official page to apply : Click me

--

--

Sharannyo Basu
Coding Blocks

Graphics Designer @ Hackoverflow Technical Society | CA @ Coding Blocks | Fellow @ Incubate IND | Junior @ Chandigarh University | Working on Full-stack Dev