1st day of the rest of my coding life

Jake Metz
Coding Bootcamp Diary
2 min readFeb 19, 2018

Today is orientation day at CoderAcademy. My first day of an immersive fast track coding bootcamp located in Sydney, Australia. It has been a long time coming. Looking back it was roughly 5 years ago that the ‘tech bug’ bit me and now the day has come to take the leap of faith. However, I do understand that this leap of faith has a landing much much further down than the 26 week course provided by CoderAcademy. My positivity blinders are on, my hands are on the keyboard, let’s go!

welcome to the dark side

WHY AM I ATTENDING?

  • Frankly, I’m tired of sitting on the sidelines while everyday technology is used to help solve problems of all sorts all across the globe. My interest in financial technology grew day by day as I become frustrated with the systems I was working on and client complaints about our user interfaces along with the antique processes we deployed. Think a fax machine. Yes, a fax machine, and if you don’t know what that is google it.
  • CoderAcademy is the right fit for me. Named a best bootcamp of 2017 by CourseReport. The content covered everything from TDD, github, ruby on rails, and more. On top of this the culture of the school was immediately apparent when I toured the school and walked past digital media as well as a group of children participating in an after school STEM program. The bottomline is it just felt right and that was the cherry on top after all of the program necessity boxes were left unchecked.

WHAT DO I HOPE TO ACCOMPLISH?

  • Simple: obtain a job as a Junior Web Developer.

WHAT GOALS DO I HAVE THROUGHOUT MY EDUCATION?

  • Personal goals: 1) stay in my lane (it’s not a race and/or competition) 2) develop working attitude of ‘anythings solve-able’ with positivity as my weapon of choice 3) No regrets, no second thoughts, and only onward.
  • Attend 40 meetups/pitch events/hackathons/etc.

--

--