Video: Add an avatar to your Flutter app with the RoboHash API

Andrea Bizzotto
Code With Andrea
Published in
2 min readMay 19, 2018
Video: add an avatar to your Flutter app. See Part 2 and Part 3

This is a three-part video on how to add an avatar image to your Flutter app by using FutureBuilder and the RoboHash API. I also show how to validate forms and customise widgets with BoxDecoration.

Why is this useful?

You can use this to generate an avatar image for any unique string in your app. This could be a user ID, name or email.

Sign up here for more videos:

Full source code on GitHub:

Did I miss anything or do you know of a better way? Let me know in the comments.

Did you like the YouTube video? Please give it a like — it will improve the search rankings so more people can find it. You can also subscribe to my YouTube channel to be notified of future videos.

For more articles and video tutorials, check out Code With Andrea.

About me: I’m an iOS & Flutter developer, juggling between contract work, open source, side projects and blogging.

I’m @biz84 on Twitter. You can also see my GitHub page. Feedback, tweets, funny gifs, all welcome! My favourite? Lots of 👏👏👏. Oh, and banana bread.

--

--