A High School Skill that Unexpectedly Redirected My Life

Typing was the catalyst for my career in R&D computing

Jeffrey V Sibley
Coffee Break Inspiration
3 min readJan 22, 2023

--

Manual typewriter with a person typing… / Thanks to Thom Milkovic @thommilkovic for making this photo available on Unsplash 🎁
 https://unsplash.com/photos/FTNGfpYCpGM
Photo by Thom Milkovic on Unsplash

Sometimes insignificant decisions can affect your life in unexpected ways. Like a boat traveling over a long distance, just a minor adjustment to the tiller will have large effects over time.

In Highschool, I was shy and lacked self-confidence, especially with members of the fairer sex. I didn’t have the size or coordination to play team sports. I ran cross-country and wasn’t very good at that. I developed a strategy to increase my odds. I would take typing. To help tell the whole story, I was also taking all the shop classes I could… woodworking, welding, and drafting. Being dyslexic, I felt my future was in the blue-collar sector. The typing strategy did get me quality time with girls but I was too shy to execute the opportunity. What I got out of typing was much more valuable! I learned to type.

You can never judge the impact a decision will have on the future.

While typing was seen as a clerical skill in the late 70s when I was in high school, it opened up a door for me that wouldn’t have been as easy to open had I not been able to touch-type. Because of my shop skills, I was hired into R&D as a technician, running pilot plants for a major chemical company. As an R&D tech, we were expected to build, modify and maintain the units we ran. When we started migrating control of these units from setpoint loop controllers to computers, I was there. I took to the computer code, DowTRAN* in this case. Writing software for process control was a new skill set that few college courses addressed, so when the need for a new part-time job maintaining the code for the unit I was assigned to, I was tapped to fill it… and I could type! I had never been a fast typist but I was accurate and when typing syntax accuracy is more important than speed.

That class and some others I took at night at the local university opened the door to the R&D Computer group where I spent the next almost 30 years of my career. When I retired I had a group of engineers and instrument technicians supporting the automation needs for Dow Chemical R&D on the Gulf Coast.

I look back at that typing class as the catalyst for my career in R&D computing.

Reference

DowTRAN: A computer code developed by Dow Chemical designed to run on the inhouse developed process control system MOD. The code was a FORTRAN like structured text specific for chemical process control.

If you enjoyed this story please consider following Coffee Break Inspiration. We publish short inspirational stories that you can read over a cup of coffee.. If you are interested in writing and bringing positive inspiration to the world, consider joining our publication. We are always looking for quality writers and articles focused on spreading positivity.

A portion of your membership fee directly supports Jeffrey V Sibley and other writers you read. This will cost you nothing extra and you’ll also get full access to every story on Medium.

© Jeff Sibley 2023, All Rights Reserved

--

--

Jeffrey V Sibley
Coffee Break Inspiration

Jeff loves to travel after retiring as a Research Scientist where he ran an Automation Engineering group. He is married and has four grown children.