The secret diary of a green coffee buyer aged 40 and 1/4

A trip around Central America Day 8 Still in Apaneca but at La Fany and others 

hasbean
Coffee Buying Trip Diary

--

So day 8 comes and the reminder that this is my longest every trip away from Has Bean becomes a reality. I have only ever got to 8 days before, and still there are two countries after this one to tick off on the trip.

But safe in the knowledge I have a day relaxing at the beach in two days time keeps me focused and motivated on what has bean an awesome trip to date.

Day 8 I was up with a fuzzy head after all that rum, but a delicious cup of coffee from Carmen soon has me chomping at the bit to get to the farms.

I always remember my first trip to la fany back in 2007 when Rafael had suggested I rode up on the quad bike they had. so so so so so so much fun riding through coffee fields and whizzing around independent from the car and the group. Well this time there was no group, I had carmen and Raf to myself, but this time they had something even better, a 4 x 4 cart, so cool

So the first farm we hit is finca Noruega, a farm we bought the first time last year, and somewhere I was keen to see. A farm that Carmen and Rafael have only been working for four years, before this it was abandoned.

This is the first farm I begin to see some issues with leaf rust, and although not devastating the farm as it has in some parts, it was very visible that some of the trees were suffering. Leaf rust is something thats been effecting all of central / south america, but El Salvador has been worst hit this year. A airborne fungus, its difficult to control and impossible without fungicides and once it starts its tough to get a grip on. It shocks the plant into defending its self by shedding its leaves. This stops the plant being able to turn sunlight into fruit and slowly kills the tree (simplistic explanation I am sure agronomists can give a more precise definition but for this diary I think its fine).

From here I 4 x 4 to to one of the first coffees I ever bought, and still do every year. Called finca la fany, its become a staple, a must have coffee. I remember on that visit in 2007 I climbed a tree that just demanded to be climbed. I tried to find the same tree, but they were all so much bigger. But I climbed anyway, and managed to rip the crotch of my trousers right open (Carmen found this most entertaining whilst laughing at me lying on the floor). also got to visit the nursery, 70,000 plants for some replanting this year, a rolling program of replacement.

From here we go around 1/2 a mile to another new farm we bought last year Finca San Cayetano. The natural from last year was sublime and one I look forward to very much this. A tiny farm, were able to ride around in the 4x4 in a few mins, as I had already ruined Carmen’s itinerary with photos and dragging my feet.

What surprised me was at every farm, there was work going on. Either picking, or pruning tidying, repairs or just tending to the farm. These coffees are not good by mistake, but down to the hard work of the producers.

We were hoping to visit Siberia, but Carmen was a little worried that there had been trouble in the area over the past few weeks, and it may not be safe to visit. This drives home as much fun as these trips are with rum, and 4 x 4's theres still some dangers in visiting coffee farms.

Lunch time calls, so back to the house, and I begin to feel not so good, but time to power through as I have a couple of full tables to cup. Although I rarely buy at anyones but my own cupping table, its always good to see how the current crop is taking shape. As always Carmen and Rafael put a great table on, and show me how much amazing coffee is to come through this year. I think you will be very happy.

So back to the house to wait for the next adventure and the next stage of the trip. Were joined by someone I’m looking forward to meeting on Monday (Federico from Santa Petrona) and the guys from Axil coffee in Melbourne Australia. Its great to shoot the breeze with these guys, and I seem to get all giddy and the right stand up comedian. But still I do not feel right.

My stand up continues when Alejandro from finca Argentina fame comes to pick me up. I love it when producers who I work with all come together, I know that everyone wins and learns from each other, and they get on like a house on fire.

Number exchanged and hugs passed out to everyone, ale starts the drive to his parents house by the lake where we will be stopping the night before going to the mill in the morning. Ale has stocked up on beers and snacks for a boys night on the lake, when I start to feel worse and worse.

Half way to the lake, we have to stop as I am shaking and shivering, and feel decidedly unwell. finally arriving at the house, I am straight to bed, full clothed with my coat on and three quilts and I am still cold in the El Salvador warm evening. I hope tomorrow is better…….

--

--