How I Finally Caved and Blew My Medium Earnings On Myself (And Why I Don’t Regret It One Bit)

Becca Brooks
Coffee & Cake
Published in
2 min readDec 10, 2023

--

The 8th of every month is like Christmas morning for us Medium writers.

I wake up bright and early, brew a soothing cup of chamomile tea, and eagerly check my dashboard to see those beautiful numbers light up — cha-ching!

This past month, my eyes nearly bulged out of my head when I saw I’d raked in $515. Five hundred and fifteen American dollars…for writing “silly articles” in my pajamas. I almost spilled my tea.

My earnings for the month of November.

My first thought was obviously that new 50-inch 4K TV from Best Buy. I mean, have you seen how crisp those images are? It would look gorgeous mounted in my cozy living room.

Then my thoughts drifted to noise-cancelling headphones. Let’s be honest, my 5-year-old pair from RadioShack have seen better days. Only the left earbud works now unless I contort the wire at a 45-degree angle. And they sound like a box fan whenever there’s any bass.

But eventually, the crushing guilt started to seep in.

Who was I to blow so much money on materialistic things when there were bills to pay and a family vacation to save for? I imagined the scornful looks from my prudent grandma if she ever found out.

--

--

Becca Brooks
Coffee & Cake

Aspiring writer seeking readers. Will write for food.