How My 100-Day Writing Challenge Transformed Me From a Wannabe Writer to a Confident Author

Becca Brooks
Coffee & Cake
Published in
3 min readJan 2, 2024

--

As I click “publish” on this post, I’m filled with a sense of accomplishment.

Why?

Because exactly 100 days ago today, I made a commitment to myself that I’d write every day for the next 100 days, without skipping a single day.

Time to treat myself! Photo by S O C I A L . C U T on Unsplash

Prior to this challenge, I was struggling immensely with my writing. I had big dreams of sharing my unconventional wisdom through storytelling, but I lacked confidence in my skills. After a few frustrating weeks of writer’s block, I decided enough was enough.

My Plan

I devised a plan: I would force myself to write something, anything, for 100 days straight. My rationale was that the practice would get me out of my own head and build my writing muscles. And wow, was I right.

Those first few posts were rough, to put it lightly. The plot lines were inconsistent, the grammar was shaky, and the narrative was all over the place. But I kept with it, using each day to chip away at my writing weaknesses.

To compensate for the really bad days ahead, I wrote an extra story or two on the days when I was feeling extra inspired. That way, I could relax a bit on days when an emergency or important commitment came up, without…

--

--

Becca Brooks
Coffee & Cake

Aspiring writer seeking readers. Will write for food.