Why I Stay Away From Discussing Politics in Public

Becca Brooks
Coffee & Cake
Published in
3 min readDec 26, 2023

--

I stared down at my plate of untouched food as my friend Claire posed the dreaded question:

“So, who are you guys voting for in the election?”

We were halfway through a dinner party at my house when the subject I had hoped to avoid came up.

The upcoming Biden vs. Trump election had become a heated, divisive topic. More often than not, political discussions with friends led to tension rather than meaningful discourse.

Photo by Michael Ramey on Unsplash

This upcoming Biden vs Trump presidential election is a perfect example.

Let’s say I sided with Biden over Trump.

More often than not, Republicans will bash me simply because of the fact that I’m a Democrat, not necessarily because of my individual opinions or arguments. They’ll immediately go on a tirade about Biden’s supposed incompetency or inability to lead.

On the other side of the coin, if I sided with Trump over Biden, I’d get more or less a similar heated and polarized reaction. Biden supporters would simply dismiss my ideals, claiming that I must be ignorant or racist for supporting Trump.

And don’t even get me started on simply being Independent or moderate. Neither Democrats or…

--

--

Becca Brooks
Coffee & Cake

Aspiring writer seeking readers. Will write for food.