Why I’m Not Testing My Luck on Squid Game: The Challenge

Becca Brooks
Coffee & Cake
Published in
3 min readDec 13, 2023

--

My sister, Emily, has been insisting that I watch the new Netflix reality show “Squid Game: The Challenge” with her. After finally giving in and bingeing it this weekend, I’m obsessed and wishing there were more episodes!

Image via Rottentomatoes (https://www.rottentomatoes.com/tv/squid_game_the_challenge/pictures)

Squid Game: The Challenge

The concept is straightforward: 455 contestants compete in various challenges with a $4.55 million grand prize going to the winner. Keep in mind, these challenges are Korean children’s games with single elimination consequences. We’re talking Battleship, Hopscotch, Red Light Green Light with an added element of deception and teamwork.

It was thrilling watching the contestants backstab and betray each other in the name of winning the huge payout. You find yourself rooting for some and hating others. I got really invested in the characters, even if the final 20 didn’t get as much screen time to develop them.

My only other critique was that luck played too big of a role in the end after the initial skill-based challenges. But neither complaint stopped me from plowing through all the episodes.

After discussing the decisions made by each contestant, I jokingly said that I could dominate these games if I ever went on. That prompted a debate between me and Emily about how long I’d actually…

--

--

Becca Brooks
Coffee & Cake

Aspiring writer seeking readers. Will write for food.