A Dress

Ida Izquierdo
Coffee House Writers
2 min readApr 9, 2018
Credit: Pexels

Pink and blue swirls was all I could see. The way she was dancing was hypnotizing. I couldn’t keep my eyes off her. Her curly hair bounced as she danced away with her friends. My friends all kept talking but all I could see was her….

I knew she wasn’t into girls. My mystery woman was into men. Older men.

I was a freshman. She was junior.

We were both girls. But a girl can dream.

I could dream that someday she’d turn her eyes on my scrawny figure and grant me a smile. That she’d talk to me about her dreams, about the stars in the night sky.

I’d watch her cherry red lips move as she spoke. I could only hope for a kiss, Camila was beautiful. Anyone’s dream girl.

Me, I was a scrawny eighteen year old with a long high school crush on Camila. My brother went out with her once and he came home with a nasty story about her.

“She’s a prude” I watched as he threw his jacket onto the couch while sipping my soda. “What is there not to like, I’m good looking-”

“Maybe you got a tiny Prince?” I said. He threw a pillow at me.

I never thought about that night again until now. Guys always tried to be with Camila but only a few were successful.

“What the hell are you doing Nancy?”

“Imma talk to her,” I slurred holding a warm beer in my hand. I turned to my friends giving them a salute before turning my back on them.

I made my way through the crowd. It was like swimming. I was flowing through and there she was, that beautiful dress.

I took a deep breath and tapped her on the shoulder.

I was met with deep brown eyes, short lashes, and a drunken smile.

“I’m Nancy.”

To be continued…

--

--

Ida Izquierdo
Coffee House Writers

Book lover. Plot explorer.29.Libra. Shawol. inked. Forever in love with the moon.