A Mom’s Life-Poetry Come to Life

Lindsey Taylor
Coffee House Writers
2 min readJan 22, 2018
Photo by: Pixabay / Pexels.com

Another mess, someone always screaming.

Snot is a flow and tears are streaming.

“This is mine, no that is…” the arguments of the world.

“I want this; I want that,” the voices of my boy and girl.

A mess here, a smear there. What is that on my wall?

The screech of my son, sounds like an awful bird call.

Soaring from coach to chair, the kids seem to fly.

Until they fall short of the coffee table and begin to cry.

My mind is frazzled; my wife is a mess.

We fall out at bedtime time, remembering life with no stress.

The silence of a kid, most likely into something.

While the other tries to distract us, 100 questions they bring.

Food is wasted, and battles lost.

As my wife and I learn who’s the real boss.

The reprieve of bedtime can’t come quick enough.

The last few spurts of energy, man this is tough.

It ends and starts all over again.

The struggles of a new day from beginning to end.

But the love is unfathomed, untouched, unmet

no matter how hard and stressful times get.

Crazy is how we get through the day.

But when it comes to admiration, I must say.

The beauty in this house,

although covered in crayon and dust,

is a love that covers the home from dawn to dusk.

The artwork on the walls are temporary.

But, the memory of our life will be carried-

Through the years, and for the rest of our days.

These memories will warm us like golden sunshine rays.

The days won’t always run together, this much is true

but the love that floats around us will always pull us through

This is the life of a mom, come to life.

Everything full circle, as we watch our history materialize.

--

--

Lindsey Taylor
Coffee House Writers

Mother, wife, student, writer, planner-lover, and caffeine consumer.