A Poem About Grief

Juliana Ruggiero
Coffee House Writers
2 min readAug 26, 2019

Grief, where do I begin?

Grief is hard. You don’t understand why you’re crying so much, especially if you’re not the biggest crier.

Grief is tricky. It can strike at the most random times; you could be watching videos on YouTube and all of a sudden you're bawling your eyes out.

Grief is draining. With all the crying you do, there could be a bunch of good days and a bunch of bad days. Grief is so draining it can take so much energy out of you that all you’ll want to do is sleep.

Grief can cause depression, especially if you were very close to the person that died. When you are depressed, all you do is eat, not realizing or caring about how much you’re actually eating. This was me in the beginning. All I did was eat big bowls of everything didn’t care about how much I put in my mouth to cover up the pain.

Grief is complicated. You don’t get it, you don’t understand it. You ask, why am I going through this so young? You know there’s no choice but to let you and your body go through it.

Grief is painful. It hurts so bad some days. It will take a lot of time to heal as this has been one of the toughest loses for me.

Grief is evil. It can mess you up and affect your motivation to do the things you love and want to do.

While I grieve, I want to let people out there know a few things: I don’t need drama, extra stress, or to be in any more pain then I’m already in. If you won’t be able to keep yourself from doing this, get out of my life now!

The things I do need from people are to be reminded that I’m loved when I’m having my bad days. To be supported. I just need people to be there for me, that’s it.

I know grieving is part of life, I get that.

Right now, I don’t care.

I don’t wish grief on anybody because….

It’s the devil.

A black and white photo of an older woman wearing a worn sherpa coat. She is holding her head in her hands.
Photo By: Free-Photos on Pixabay

--

--

Juliana Ruggiero
Coffee House Writers

A young writer who strives to spread her positive and inspiring message one story at a time.