Alone

Alexis Morelos
Coffee House Writers
1 min readMay 7, 2018
Illustration by Alexis Morelos

I’m tired, just so tired,
and I don’t want to be.
Used to be fluttering with energy,
God, what happened to me?

I don’t have the time anymore,
work is all there is.
Trapped in my room,
I haven’t seen my mom in ages,
my dad seems to have never existed.

I only know two homes,
the room that suffocates,
and the library that does too.
Loneliness is a terrible fate.

I don’t know the time anymore,
hours passed just a second ago.
Slowly running out of tomorrows,
now at the close of a new day,
watching the sun I don’t want to set,
it’s the greatest horror.
Why can’t it stay?

Desperation kicks me to the curb,
Anxiety giggles as I fall,
Guilt will say it’s my fault.
And it’s hard to ignore
when memories force a grip so tight,
I would have to cut nerves
just to let go.
But I never do.

--

--

Alexis Morelos
Coffee House Writers

Hard and Soft Sci-Fi and sometimes Horror or Fantasy, I want to share another lens to view through.