Are You Suffering From Writers Block Right Now? Here Are Five Ways You Can Find Writing Inspiration

Juliana Ruggiero
Coffee House Writers
3 min readMay 27, 2019

You know the old saying, “A writer’s work is never done.” Well, I’m just gonna be blunt and tell you the truth straight out, it’s true. I feel like some of us writers write almost every week and don’t take time for ourselves. We sacrifice our nights, days, afternoons…. sometimes we even try to squeeze it into our schedules. I’m telling you, the struggle is real.

I believe, and I’m sure everyone I know who’s a writer will agree with me too, that there are two different kinds of writers: the ones who can just think of a topic to write about off the top of their heads and the writers who try and write different topics, get bored of them all and then suffer from writers block and don’t know what to write about for months . I can say I mostly lean towards the second type of writer, it depends if something pops in my head or not.

Are you also the second type of writer? Are you having that same struggle of not knowing what to write about right now? Today’s your lucky day then! I’ve got some hot and fresh ideas on you can get some inspiration for writing coming your way right now!

1. Blogs-this I’m sure is everyone’s favorite way to find inspiration for writing if needed. Look on a blog or a friend’s blog if they run one. Maybe there’s a quote that you liked that they posted one day, and you want to use it and write an article about it. If you decied to use that one quote and the picture from the blog, ask permission first and give the person credit underneath the quote picture.

2. Books- This is for all the writers out there who are also book nerds as well, I you need inspiration for writing, look in a book. It can be any kind of book. Or if you have too many favorites and can’t pick, just chose the one you’ve read about 100 + times over……easy enough right?

3. Music- if you love music like me, you could probably find tons of inspiration through song lyrics. Maye you can take your favorite song, write an article about and put the song lyrics with it. Sounds like a pretty fun idea to me.

4. Conversations with friends- if your really stuck and can’t find inspiration for writing, rely on your best friends to help oy! Sometimes the best talks are with friends you love. Maybe one afternoon, you and your best friends or friend had a talk that inspired you or made you feel good and it made you want to write about it. Don’t worry, if they really love you, they’ll let you put them on the spot.

5. Freewriting- I’ve never tried this, but this seems like a cool and fun idea. Grab a paper or pencil and make yourself sit down for a least 20 minutes, time it. Jot down anything that might come to mind on that paper. After the 20 minutes is up, look at your paper and see if your words and sentences make sense. If they do, make an article out of it! I’m sure it’ll make great sense if you just try.

There are tons of other ways to get inspired for writing, these five listed are just a few.

So writers, the next time you need inspiration for writing, take a look a look at this list! I’m sure you’ll utilize one of these ways if you need to.

Good luck and happy writing!

Photo By: geralt on Pixabay

Source: https://writetodone.com/31-ways-to-find-inspiration-for-your-writing/

--

--

Juliana Ruggiero
Coffee House Writers

A young writer who strives to spread her positive and inspiring message one story at a time.