Crafted Communism

Lisa Post
Coffee House Writers
4 min readJul 8, 2019
Photo courtesy of Pixabay.como

If you are a knitter or someone who crochets, you have probably already heard or been affected by Ravelry.com’s latest policy. The new policy, which bans any kind of support for our President and outs members who express support, has created quite a stir in the last couple of weeks.

It’s a shame because Ravelry has been a wonderful resource. I have been knitting for over two decades and have enjoyed the patterns, the exchange of ideas, and many great helpful hints from other members. Honestly, I never gave politics a thought while I was on the site. I wasn’t there to argue or pursue any kind of agenda; I just wanted some creative juices to flow and it was a wonderful place to spark the imagination.

I guess all good things do come to an end. Ravelry has equated anyone that supports President Trump as a white supremacist. I support our President because of the office he holds. He needs our prayers, as any leader of a country does. Do I agree with everything he says and does? Of course not. But overall, I believe he is trying to do some good for America and get it back on track and heading in a sensible direction. I was not an Obama supporter, but I still respected him while he held office. I didn’t throw any temper tantrums by instigating street riots or ban people from my blog just because they held a different opinion than mine.

“We are banning support of Donald Trump and his administration on Ravelry. We cannot provide a space that is inclusive of all and also allow support for open white supremacy. Support of the Trump administration is unambiguously support for white supremacy.”

Photo courtesy of Pixabay.com

Banning people because of their political beliefs is an earmark of communism. I have read the policy on Ravelry and they say that they aren’t penalizing people for their political beliefs. Baloney. That is just more left-wing rhetoric to make what they are doing sound nice and clean. They are banning people because of political beliefs, make no mistake about it. If I go in and post support for our President out of respect for the office, I would be banned.

They equivocate support of our President with white supremacy. That a huge leap and assumption. It is biased, unfair, and reeks of communism. One of the tactics of communism to ban opposing political views. Hello, Comrade Crafters!

Like most people who are illogical, they contradict themselves in their own policies. Here is an excerpt from their website:

“Welcome to our site! Ravelers hail from different countries, speak different languages and have different interests, but we all share a common love for fiber. We want Ravelry to be a fun and friendly place for everyone and want our members to be kind and respectful to each other.”

(Ravelry membership guidelines, updated June 30, 2019.)

A friendly place for everyone? They forgot to add in “unless you support our President.” Again, more of the double-tongued spatula effect to make what they are doing seem reasonable and progressive.

Well, I’m sorry, Ravelry. You disappointment me. Being in support of President Trump, my country’s leader doesn’t make me a white supremacist. You don’t know me or my personal beliefs. You boast over 8 million users, but do you really know what you are talking about when it comes to their political thoughts?

I’m not really a very active person in the political realm. I don’t like the arguing, the name-calling, and the lying about each other. Politics tends to bring out the worst in people. I would like to think it is because people care so much about our country, but really I think it is just a hunger for power and money. Most crafters enjoy their hobbies because it is their happy place. Congratulations to Ravelry for dirtying the “happy place” by bringing in political controversy.

On the landing page of the Ravelry sign-in, there is an LGBTQIA+ flag. I suppose that is to show their tolerance and love for everyone. It is misleading. They are not tolerant of all people. Maybe they should replace it with a red flag with hammer and sickle. It would seem more appropriate.

--

--

Lisa Post
Coffee House Writers

Writer, student, teacher, mom, wife… you name it I probably wear the hat. Avid reader and writer, and lover of people watching, finding humor in everyday life.