Drowning

A poem about life through her eyes…

Destini Febus
Coffee House Writers
2 min readOct 15, 2018

--

Photo Credits to Yannis Papanastas at Unsplash.com

I look at the beautiful sky view of the city from a 30 story window,

Clear and blue.

Just like the ocean as people say…

Only the ocean I picture is deep, cold, and endless.

Reminding me of an ocean of tears and sorrow at most.

I see deeper into the clear blue sky,

Drifting into my subconscious

Slowly losing air, losing sight of what’s in front of me

Gasping for air, but I continue to swallow what tastes like the salty water that inhabits the ocean

There are many people down here…

All whom have drowned,

Some who are still suffocating for years,

We all struggle and gasp for a bubble of air to try and stay alive in this dark, abandoned, cold ocean…

Struggling to grasp onto a moment, a second to catch your breath, to pull ourselves above the water.

But I continue to drown,

Just like them, only deeper… and faster…

Each second under water, my lungs fill with water

Coughing and begging for relief, just a chance to stay above water

But…

The inevitable happens…

My clear blue sky has now turned into a deep bottomless ocean of darkness…

Photo Credits to Cristian Palmer at Unsplash.com

--

--