Enough is Enough. Period.

Riley Irwin
Coffee House Writers
4 min readMay 20, 2019
Photo Credit: Riley Irwin

Back in sixth grade, the teachers separated the boys and girls into two different classrooms in order to have “the talk”. They referred to the female ovary crash course as “a trip to Malibu”. I remember all giggling about how jealous the males would be with the false belief us girls were going to the beach, but looking back on that, I wonder why we could not just make the announcement we were going to get a lesson on how our body works.

It is as if this idea of secrecy had been ingrained into my mind. I mean for some odd reason I found it necessary to hide my tampons in my armpit at the department store. To quietly grab a box from the feminine product aisle, then quickly shuffle out. Why? Was I ashamed? No. Still, I was embarrassed to hand them to the Target employee at the register.

The majority of females can recall a moment in their past when they scrambled into a bathroom stall completely mortified by the sight of a red substance seeping through their bottoms. First, comes the initial *bleep* because you just ruined your favorite lace underwear. Second, comes the *bleep* *bleep* *bleep* because you were wearing a thong that did absolutely nothing to protect your shorts from the waterfall of blood. Then, the last *bleeeeeeeeeeeep* filled with despair when you realize the tampon dispenser only accepts quarters. Maybe one day they will accept Venmo.

I dread my period. I watch with grief as I swallow each birth control pill; each day closer to the sugar pill. I was taught how horrible menstruating is. As a college student, I would prefer to spend my money on coffee rather than on tampons or pads. I would rather not have to be late to class because I have to make the “bathroom stop” on my way there. I would rather not have my emotions spoke to as “that time of the month” or simply hormones when I feel something out of the norm.

The uterine and menstrual cycle is complex — it’s truly a work of art. It a domino effect with each action leading to a consequence and so on. It is important to recognize that girls are born with a finite amount of follicles and only a select number will become mature eggs. It is a precise process with the sole purpose of introducing a perfect baby to the universe. I am grateful to have received a real understanding of the female reproductive system in my college anatomy class, but most people do not get the opportunity to have this higher education about humans.

It was finally coming to the conclusion that I knew absolutely nothing about my own self that made me want to learn about the female body. It is a topic that should not be withheld from conversation, but it can feel awkward to bring up sometimes, which is a consequence of society’s tendency to keep it so discreet. This is where the problem begins; lack of education leads to ignorance. How is a person supposed to protect the female reproductive system if no one even knows what they are defending?

So let’s chat about ovaries. Let’s educate each other. This is my introduction, but in my upcoming writings we can explore its grandeur, one piece at a time, together.

I flaunt “blood, period, uterus, tampons, etc.” around because it is not taboo. It is what I perceive 5–10 days every month, it is what my body prepares for 3 weeks of the month, and it is what I feel every single day (I can not emphasize the days when I am bloating due to extra estrogen enough). It is quite disheartening to take such a beautiful system and to depict it as “Ew, she’s on her period!” I mean it is just a little bit of blood.

However, I would like to shine a light on an ethical issue that plagues the globe: period poverty. In my next article, I will be digging into what exactly this is, as well as what it means for society. Today, I am leaving you with a few questions.

Should feminine products be safe and new?

Should feminine products be available without taxes?

Would you be okay with your spouse, your sister, your mother, your friend, or your daughter leaving the house with a pile of toilet paper stuffed in the back of her shoe because she could not afford feminine products?

--

--

Riley Irwin
Coffee House Writers

I’ve found that living a life full of smiles and cups of chai tea lattes (don’t forget the almond milk) with a good pun every now and then is the best way to go