Photo Credit: Pixabay

First Crush

Pamela Acker
Coffee House Writers

--

This poem reflects a personal experience of that first time those unknown feelings of love pop up when meeting that special someone during adolescence. A trial-run of rejection is part of the growing process; a part of life that is not pleasant, but necessary in the story of our lives.

We were both fifteen.

I noticed you and lost my breath.

In your eyes my existence was zero.

These new feelings inside,

Caught me by surprise.

Inexperienced, no knowledge

What to do.

Innocence overcame judgement.

Watching you gave my heart a thrill.

In my dreams,

Whether night or day,

They all were of you.

Months passed, courage gained.

Approach you or not.

Share my feelings or stay quiet.

Slid a card into your locker one morning.

Feeling scared, maybe I shouldn’t have.

Feeling relieved I did…I took the risk!

No thoughts if you would respond,

Only thoughts of strong and innocent feelings.

Later that day,

Respond you did.

Card returned through one of your nasty friends.

The feeling of sweet happiness hit me first,

And excitement…an unthinkable response.

The words inside brought me to my knees.

Cruel and harsh,

My heart was crushed.

Humiliation and embarrassment

Filled my soul.

I could not move,

I could not think.

Those tender feelings of love were so new,

And so it goes, the mean ones, too.

All these years have passed,

I could not believe

Those words were yours.

A reunion is near,

Finally I see.

Finally I see.

Those words were yours.

The door of adolescent love can close for me.

It took all these years

For me to accept,

The ones you love

Hurt you most!

Innocence lost,

Piece by piece.

That day, the slice was great.

Yet…from your cruelty,

I could not hate!

--

--

Pamela Acker
Coffee House Writers

Curiosity is the paintbrush I use to show readers the beautiful colors of life.