Free Me: A Poem About Feeling Caged

Ruth Cowan
Coffee House Writers
1 min readSep 25, 2017
Photo Credit: Pixabay

Bound by these bars of brass,

Please set me free.

To a world of wonder,

And all that I see.

Bound by these walls,

that imprison me today.

Remove these chains that bind my heart,

Show me the way.

My soul is growing weary,

Its light is dimming now.

Reignite my passion,

Please tell me how.

My wings, they are withering,

Cocooned much too long.

My heart and soul, meant to be free,

Flying free into the night, is where

I belong.

So as I lay my weary head, with prayers

To be free.

Let the morning light bring with it,

Bars and walls unseen.

--

--

Ruth Cowan
Coffee House Writers

I write inspirational nonfiction and poetry that focuses on using my own life experiences to help others.