If I Could Rid The World Of One Thing, It Would Be Child Molesters

Josephine Green
Coffee House Writers
2 min readJan 29, 2018

Last summer, the worst possible thing happened to me. I awakened from a nightmare. It was a hazy memory type of dream. I wasn’t sure if it was a memory or a dream at first until the memories flooded back, later that day. A family member had molested me. At first, I pushed it deep down refusing to believe it, not because this family was upstanding or decent, quite the opposite. He was a scumbag. But, I couldn’t deal with it. I cried a lot in the quiet darkness of my bedroom, alone, scared, not wanting anyone to find out.

Finally, I told my therapist. Slowly, I talked about it in group therapy. Eventually, I told my parents, who were justifiably upset, angry, and blaming themselves.

The memories are still hazy and dreamlike, and I still don’t have all the pieces yet, which is frustrating for me. I still cry a lot. It affects my relationship with my boyfriend.

I can’t help but hate the man who molested me. I never wished death on anyone until now. I’m not sure if it makes me a terrible person or not. But he stole something from me I can never get back, my innocence… not to mention screwed up relationships with men.

I’m so sorry I didn’t tell someone when I was younger, I buried it instead. No child should ever have to go through what I went through. It’s unthinkable. I hope I never have to see this family member again.

If I could rid the world of one thing, it would be child molesters. There’s nothing on Earth worse than them. I will spend the rest of my life getting over what this man did to me.

One summer long ago an innocence was lost…

Photo by Yousef Espanioly on Unsplash

--

--

Josephine Green
Coffee House Writers

I live in New Jersey, in the northeastern part of the state. I have a cat named Daenerys. I don’t have any children and am unmarried but do have a boyfriend.