Knock, Knock.

R. Skye
Coffee House Writers
2 min readSep 25, 2017

Knock, knock turned into a bang very quickly.
Ignoring you isn’t easy.
You invade my mind, you never escape.
What’s wrong with me? No, what’s wrong with you…
You took that night, I did not give it to you.
You robbed me. You stole it.

Knock, knock, BANG, Bang, Smash.
There goes the lock to my door,
There goes the thoughts of my sanity,
Leaving me with blank misery.
I try to talk about it, but I’d rather lock it away
And throw away the key.
So I can never go back to that place,
But when I close my eyes, I see that face.
That ugly face. Why did I have to know you?
Why couldn’t you just leave? It was still unwanted.

When the words came to my mouth,
You told me I liked it, that I asked for it.
You’re a fool, you’re a liar.
I hate you, I wish you’d never been born.
I took a moment and thought about it.
And it still isn’t fair, all the questions that are in my mind.

Locked away by that key,

Knock, Knock, Bang, Bang;

I changed my locks. I left town.

I reported you.
I’m free to think, I’m free to wander,
You are a coward still, but you don’t drag me down.
I won this fight, and I’m taking back my life.

Photo Credit: Amanda Denman

My daughters, and I.

--

--