Love Letter to Yourself

Aylin Cedillo
Coffee House Writers
2 min readJul 23, 2018
Photo by Kevin Laminto on Unsplash

To whoever,

It’s time I address you. We’ve gone too long without speaking and it’s driving me insane. I saw you, the other day-a quick glimpse in a window of a shop. You are so beautiful, so grown, who could have thought? I know you must think that you don’t look at all grown up but you truly do. You carry age and innocence well with you. Don’t hide away from your truth. Speaking of truth, have you been speaking yours? Laid it all on the table instead of shoving it under your pillow for you to take out later and cry at it. Your face tells the truth anyway. But you looked so silent the last time I saw you. Has someone stolen your passionate laugh or your anger? Where is your sadness that you wore everyday in the form of your favorite sweater? Have you any emotion? You weren’t afraid to cry before and now you looked to terrified to break. Because no one will hold you-is that why? You’re so afraid and it’s okay. Because, baby, you’re nothing without yourself. Even if it comes in the ugliest forms of anger or the purest displays of love. Accept yourself. You are the greatest love of your life. The truth is that I have loved you the second you were born and you never realized it because you dragged yourself to the hell in your mind, signed your name goodbye with the inscription “I’m not good enough.” Baby, I need you to know that I have not stopped thinking about you. Because, I know you. You have shut your self up, moved to another location and left this empty shell in hopes that you could find another home. Your home is the same address its been your whole life; right here.

I hope to see you again and not just a glimpse, so I can hold you tight. Cry on my shoulder as if I was your favorite sweater. Scream at me. Kiss me. Do whatever you need to do. Just please, don’t stay silent.

With love always.

--

--