Love That Was

Ernesto Cordova
Coffee House Writers
1 min readNov 20, 2017

Love that was ©

Will I ever forget what we had?
I can’t say I will ever forget her!
I see her face at every turn in my day.
Everyone I see is compared to her.
It was the first love in my life.

The only ray of sunshine, my world had ever known.
How sad is that? A man at my age can’t recall much good.
My memories have been set loose, to roam the wilderness.
Not many favorable things have walked into my life.
You are turned ghost to haunt me forever.

I try to be who I am, but I feel myself slipping into my abyss.
I have been there quite a few times, always harder to climb back out.
I want to live, but misery and sorrow become my true friends.
Turning my life into a never-ending battle; attempting to live with solace.
Can I live without you? I’m working on this everyday.
In my center I find My Shadow, always here for me; a marriage for all eternity.

© Ernesto V. Cordova (a.k.a.) The Haplopoet

haplopoet22@gmail.com 12/10/15 All rights reserved

Pic by: PPT Bird — blogger

--

--

Ernesto Cordova
Coffee House Writers

I write “Shadow Poetry”. It is poetry from a dark mind; not necessarily evil, but mostly writings of a broken heart, broken love, and things that bring us fear.