Maria’s Song

Sylvia Stein
Coffee House Writers
3 min readAug 7, 2017

Chapter 4: The Big Audition

Maria felt her heart beating as she stepped out on the church stage. This was a big moment. Her hands began to get clammy, and suddenly she was a bit shaky.

“Come on Maria,” she scolded herself.

This is your moment.

Just then she saw a familiar face in the back of the auditorium. It was her best friend Hazel smiling at her. It meant so much that Hazel was there. Suddenly she began envisioning herself in a field covered in flowers. Maria focused on that image.

I need to make sure I focus and give it my all.

Lord, I know you are beside me.

Still, she could not stop thinking about Deena. As much as she tried to push her from her present life Maria found it hard not to think about her.

For a moment a flash of her past life came into her memory and normally that would throw Maria into a nervous wreck. But not today instead she kept the image of the beautiful flowers she even saw herself with a black and white background.

“Maria, best of luck,” shouted Hazel.

Hazel looked around the church and noticed the rest of the choir and director smiling.

Then she noticed Father Williams come toward her.

“My dear there is not shouting in the church.”

“Sorry, Father.”

Hazel smiled at the priest and then sat back in the auditorium chair. Maria was grinning. It was just like Hazel to make her laugh. From far away Hazel gestured to her with a sign of a heart. Maria grinned and then walked into the center of the stage.

“ So Maria, are you ready?” asked the head director.

“ Yes, I am.”

Maria was determined. She really wanted to be a part of her church choir and singing altogether. As the music started, she saw her Aunt Mildred and her brother Toby. They had entered the back.

They are here.

This made Maria happy. As the music played, everyone was blown away by the amazing voice that Maria had.

“ Each time I have had such trials in my life I stand before the Lord.

Each time I have had doubts in my life I stand before the Lord.

I know He is with me I know He will heal me.

Each time I think of turning away He reminds us He is here.

Never doubt His love for us. We need to always trust His way

For He knows our pains and He knows the way and we must always stand beside Him and let Him lead the way.”

Maria’s voice carried through and by the end of her song, everyone in the choir gave her a standing ovation. It was a proud moment for Maria. But it was also one for her Aunt Mildred, Toby, and her best friend, Hazel. Maria overheard the cheers.

“Maria, I think you know what I am going to say next.” said the director.

“I do?” she smiled.

“Yes, you do!”

“Ask him how you did?” yelled Hazel.

All the church choir laughed including the priest.

“Well do you want to know?” asked the choir director.

“Yes, I do.”

“Maria, you are now part of the choir and you will be competing at the regional, state, and national levels.”

Maria broke down in tears. This was a proud moment. She had been able to get through her big audition with flying colors.

I did it. This is really happening.

Meanwhile, on the other side of town, Maria did not know that Deena was on her way back in town and her first stop was to go and see her sister Mildred. Deanna was on the bus and seemed anxious. She held onto a photograph. It was a very young Maria and Toby who were just babies.

Mildred needs to let me see my children. She has no choice.

Source: Pixabay

--

--

Sylvia Stein
Coffee House Writers

Author Sylvia Stein has a Master’s Degree in Creative Writing and English and has published three books. She loves writing it is her passion.