My Dearest America

Aylin Cedillo
Coffee House Writers
2 min readJul 9, 2018
Photo Courtesy of Zoltan Kovacs on “Unsplash”

Dear America,

I think I have fallen out of love with you and this depresses me more than you’ll ever know. I loved you so passionately once with everything I was. There was nothing I didn’t want to be if it wasn’t with you beside me. You promised me heaven that came in the form of equality and justice. And I believed you. I was proud of you once upon a time. I remember walking underneath thousands of stars with you and you’d smile every time I mentioned how much you meant to me and to my family for giving us a home. You blushed and looked away saying it was not your job but an honor. I almost cried when you told me this. You took to me to the top of the Empire State building, swept your hand across the city and said this is all yours if you would like it to be. I said I did and America, you fooled me with your grin. I thought it meant love but it mean deception.

You lied. You hid your lies well beneath your skin that became a part of who you are. Why were you not up front with me? You could have told me what you have done and perhaps I could have grown not to accept it, but to move forward in a progressive way. This never happened. Every day, you gave me something new to be disappointed about until I wasn’t disappointed anymore. I was just angry. I was hurt to know what you were doing and how you ignored my arguments with you based on the politics of your evil. What is wrong with you? How can you justify yourself with any form of human compassion without hiding behind your sorry excuse of politics. This is not politics. This is evil. I fell out of love with you and you fell in love with your greed. This is the biggest tragedy of our relationship. I did not want to give up with you because you are perfect at hiding beneath your glamour like a Daisy Buchanan who wants the party with the money, even when you’re hurting millions of hearts.

Maybe one day you’ll realize that your zeal for yourself that comes in the form of patriotism hurts more than causes celebration. I have decided to abstain from you until you prove to me that you are worth it. That every promise you made wasn’t just empty words. I’m not giving up on fighting with you. I will fight you on every injustice. I just won’t love you because I cannot love an unjust being. I’m sorry it has come to this.

My solace,

Your ex-lover.

--

--