My Friends ©

Ernesto Cordova
Coffee House Writers
2 min readNov 6, 2017

My friends, communications get dropped but never lost.

Memories are triggered by days that come and go.

No one gets left behind or forgotten.

We can change most anything in our life, but our heart; never.

The battles we fight are our own; until we share our life with others.

This battle you have with cancer is unlike anything I know.

Faithful friends will not let you wallow in a fear of the unknown, alone.

Not knowing what tomorrow brings is scary; belief and faith will carry you on.

I will take your hand and if I can’t pull you up, I will sit with you in the dark.

But the sun will come around again and shine its benevolent light on you.

So, you can find the strength, you thought you didn’t have within.

Misery and sorrow will come knocking at your door.

Friends will have your hands, so they are not idle; to open that door.

Friends will help you to be strong and keep away from that negative shit.

I might live in shadow, but I still have light inside to see through my night.

My companion the moon is with me always; she is full tonight.

Saturn is here to give me strength for you; and a healing energy.

Venus arrives, giving all the love, we need to encourage strength to carry us.

That we may all share in the love and care, we have for our brothers and sisters.

I love you all, and always wish you the best I can.

You are never forgotten, My Friends…

© Ernesto V. Cordova 9/5/17 All rights reserved

(a.k.a.) The Haplo Poet

Oil Painting by: Steven Calzada

--

--

Ernesto Cordova
Coffee House Writers

I write “Shadow Poetry”. It is poetry from a dark mind; not necessarily evil, but mostly writings of a broken heart, broken love, and things that bring us fear.