My Thoughts On Becoming A Bridesmaid

Juliana Ruggiero
Coffee House Writers
2 min readJul 29, 2019

I’m about to become a bridesmaid next year and, to be honest, I’m really nervous about it. I shouldn’t be, but I am. I’ve seen and watched other people do the roll. I’d never thought I would one day be doing it though.

This will be my very first time playing this role, and I heard it’s a fun and difficult job. You need to do what the bride says; go with what she wants. The day will be hers so it’ll be out of your control. You won’t be able to say or do anything to make her change something about how she wants her day to be or look like.

I don’t know. I guess I have the “first-time jitters” about it. Out of the girls I’ll be standing with, I have to be the physically difficult one. You know, the one that’s gonna need all the help from the others. I don’t like to have to put the responsibility on other people having to take care of me, and I’m scared it’ll burden them. But, hey you got to do what you got to do, right.

I know the other girls won’t care about having to help me. That makes me happy to know that and it lifts a huge weight off of my shoulders. Or, maybe I’m just being paranoid. Who knows?

While all of these emotions and thoughts are going through my head, I’m also super excited and honored as well. I don’t know what to expect. Whatever comes, I’m gonna soak in every moment and minute and enjoy it.

Have any tips for me? Let me know in the comments. Any tips would be appreciated!

Photo by: Free Photos on pixabay

--

--

Juliana Ruggiero
Coffee House Writers

A young writer who strives to spread her positive and inspiring message one story at a time.