Poem: Black Summer

Josephine Green
Coffee House Writers
1 min readApr 30, 2018

******TRIGGER WARNING******

Silver flakes falling silently to the frozen ground.

I watch from the window as the snow covers the earth.

It’s early March, almost the end of my favorite season.

Soon it’ll be time for sandy beaches, pools, flip-flops, and the blazing sun.

All the things I hate.

I didn’t use to hate summer

Until I was seven years old

And it was all blackened for me.

The molestation happened in summer.

Now everything summer I associate with that blackened night.

I hate a whole season because of one night of lies, sexual molestation, and deceit.

For so many, summer is a time for joy.

But for me, it’s black.

So, I’ll sit and wait for my silver winter to come back.

National Suicide Prevention Lifeline

1–800–273–8255

Photo by sydney Rae on Unsplash

--

--

Josephine Green
Coffee House Writers

I live in New Jersey, in the northeastern part of the state. I have a cat named Daenerys. I don’t have any children and am unmarried but do have a boyfriend.