Sleep Deprived

Sylvia Stein
Coffee House Writers
1 min readMay 7, 2018
Photo by Unsplash.com ( photo by anh-ngyen) https://images.unsplash.com/photo-1516027828283-84217f09f3c4?auto=format&fit=crop&w=750&q=60

Sleep deprived I cry to sleep most nights

I am worried sick all the time.

Watching news of violent acts

Trying to hold on but some days I just can’t.

Innocent people brutally attacked.

My anxiety kicks in and I can’t close my eyes to sleep.

Sleep deprived once again

Then I awake early trying to be bubbly but it’s fading but I still put on a smile.

As I hug my 3 babies as they head out the door to school.

Hoping and praying they stay safe

Then I try to keep my cool.

Sleep deprived I lay at night.

All these thoughts from hearing the news, echoing through my mind as I worry.

Then I glare over at my husband who is sleeping peacefully after a long tiring work day.

I try to keep busy with other tasks but none of it works so I stay up again.

Sleep deprived I meditate

That all of these bad things will one day have an end.

As I hear my beloved whisper, “ Get some rest Babe.”

Sleep deprived finally my eyes start to close.

Finally for tonight, “ I sleep.”

--

--

Sylvia Stein
Coffee House Writers

Author Sylvia Stein has a Master’s Degree in Creative Writing and English and has published three books. She loves writing it is her passion.