The Alternate Reality Of Us

kelsey.
Coffee House Writers
3 min readFeb 12, 2019
Photo courtesy of: https://www.pexels.com/photo/photo-of-abandoned-concrete-castle-1006107/

I know

that you know

what you’ve done

You helped me feel again and

now I wish I couldn’t

But I don’t mind,

because there’s this trick I know

that helped me bridge the distance between us

so I could make something

of the way the rubble hit the earth after we collapsed,

using the wreckage to build my own castle without you

You see,

that’s all I know how to do

At least for right now

At least at the moment in time

you’re reading this

For a little while,

we thought we had finally found

what we had been doing so poorly without

Our heartstrings tied themselves into foolish knots,

our lights only leading us further into the dark

Somebody broke you long before I looked across the bar

and took hold of you

But I liked the pattern the damage had made,

tattooed in your eyes like sudden lightening

You think you’re so strong

refusing to listen to your heart

I think it’s stronger to follow your heart,

even if it leads you through things

you never wanted to feel

Go if that’s where it wants to go

Be with it

Even if you’re terrified

Even if it’s set ablaze

while cradled in my arms,

letting the sunrise pour over it

while I delicately light my first cigarette,

and the kids are outside,

waiting for the bus,

watching what they’ll become

if they stop caring

I will always think of you,

and your hells,

and your lips

And how

for a brief second,

somewhere scattered in the first week,

I swear I saw you step back from the edge,

just a little bit,

but enough for me to realize that,

if this was all we ever had,

I would not be okay with it

I wonder if you’d have figured out

how to pull this off had you’d stayed

I wonder why I think

it should have been my responsibility

to make that happen

I wonder where you decided to go

and

I wonder if you’ll find yourself there

Maybe you need to unravel things,

things like,

somewhere on another star

this is not quite as evil as it feels for you and I

Maybe there is something cathartic and wonderous

about the version of us that held on

Something quite healing,

like your body pressing mine

against a cold window in December

Your passion escaping you

in short, hot breaths

Your hands leaving prints in the frost,

on my back,

in my heart,

only to disappear,

the way you seem to have done now

The problem wasn’t us

It was beyond what you can control

It was beyond your feelings of doubt

Beyond my intrusive thoughts

and

overbearing insecurities

But now I’m just another face

kissed and bruised,

loved and lost,

missing you,

in the sea of everyone else

--

--

kelsey.
Coffee House Writers

“I’m alright in bed, but I’m better with a pen.”