The Gratitude I Feel

Lindsey Taylor
Coffee House Writers
2 min readMar 5, 2018
Pexels.com

How can you pay someone back who has shown such selflessness and kindness your whole life? My grandparents have been a constant in my life through all of the ebbs and flows of my life and I could not be more grateful for them. I think everyday how lucky I am to still have my grandparents in my life. Their generosity and love humble me everyday.

The gratitude I feel for these people give me hope for a better world. The memories we have make me happy and sad because my children will not have those same memories. No matter how I try to recreate specific times, they will won’t get the feelings I had and they won’t know the excitement of being your granddaughter.

Eating Coco Wheats, spending the night every weekend, staying up and watching Nick at Night, visiting your job, coloring on computer paper that you would get me for our weekends together, the Venus Fly Traps we would feed, the sea monkeys we would grow, rubbing your back and crocheting, all of these things have a special place in my heart and have helped to mold me and my appreciation for the little things.

Maybe it’s me getting older, but childhood memories have a bittersweet taste in my mouth. I am grateful to have them, but I would love to bottle up the feeling and use it whenever I need it. That happiness was from a different time and was different to experience. Those feelings mold me into a more grateful person. Those experiences allow me to smile at strangers and to still see the good in most people. Those memories push me to do better for my kids.

The gratitude I feel for the nostalgia of our times together make me giggle. Remembering is such an easy task and now we text. How times change and how time changes people, but they are still the same. Older, but still the same. More things are happening and causing me to hold on tighter to the memories, and the light we shared together. The gratitude I feel, fills me to the brim and spills over to gratitude for my family and the love I give to them. They are part of the reason I love so wholly.

A lifetime of love and guidance, how can I ever repay that? How can I ever express the gratitude I feel. How can I ever show them that they’ve helped mold me into the person that I am and give me a perfect picture of how I want to be?

The gratitude I feel…

--

--

Lindsey Taylor
Coffee House Writers

Mother, wife, student, writer, planner-lover, and caffeine consumer.