The Hummingbird

Josephine Green
Coffee House Writers
1 min readApr 22, 2019

Pink and green, fluttering so close to me. She wanted something, I didn’t know what, I had nothing to give her. Still she kept flying near me, without fail, every day.

Hummingbirds, they were her favorite birds, before she passed. She used to have a feeder for them and watch them every day. Why this one was following me, I did not know.

I was about to cross a busy street when I became fed up with this dumb bird always fluttering behind me, I turned to look at her when a car came whizzing by just when I was going to cross.

If I hadn’t turned to vent my frustrations on this bird, I would’ve been killed. I looked at the bird, she looked at me, then flew away.

I cried for her all over again…

Photo by Bryan Hanson on Unsplash

--

--

Josephine Green
Coffee House Writers

I live in New Jersey, in the northeastern part of the state. I have a cat named Daenerys. I don’t have any children and am unmarried but do have a boyfriend.