Photo Credit: Matt Amaro

The Importance of Power Soccer

Cait Marie
Coffee House Writers
5 min readJun 19, 2017

--

I have always been a competitive person. Whether I was playing games with my siblings or trying to be the best at school, it’s always been a trait of mine. Many people who are competitive turn to a sport of some kind to use the competitiveness to their advantage. However, this is particularly difficult when you also happen to have a progressive neuromuscular disease.

Due to incredibly weak muscles throughout my body, I have had to use a wheelchair my whole life. I was diagnosed with spinal muscular atrophy at 10 months old. When I was five, I got my first power wheelchair. I was never able to walk, and I have always needed help with basic everyday tasks, such as getting out of bed and getting dressed. I’m simply telling this for background information.

Sports were never my thing, but I loved soccer. When I was younger, we would go get one of those obnoxiously huge, bouncy balls from Wal-Mart, so I could “play soccer” with my family. It was my absolute favorite thing to do, especially when we’d go play in the park on the basketball court. I would take off my footrests and turn my wheelchair’s speed up all the way, there weren’t any bumps or holes to worry about. As we got older, I still wanted to play, but my family slowly lost interest in it.

Me Water Skiing!

When I was 12, I began going to Camp Riley: a camp for “Riley kids,” that was designed to be accessible to all. With adapted activities, such as swimming, archery, and even rock-wall-climbing, children with various disabilities could participate in all the “normal” camp fun. It was my favorite part of summer. I met some of my best friends there, I was able to gain some independence being away from my family, and I had the opportunity to do some pretty incredible things.

One year, they had a bunch of the campers go down to one of the parking lots. They had a surprise for us. Some of the members of the (at the time) Team USA was there to show us how to play power soccer. At this point, I was kind of upset. I thought it was going to be similar to basketball where a manual wheelchair is required. I figured I would have to just sit on the sidelines and watch, but what I saw when we got there was incredible.

Every one of the players was in a power wheelchair like me. They had these metal boxes (guards) attached to the front of their chairs, and they were hitting around a large soccer ball. I don’t think I had ever been so excited in my entire life. They used bungee cords to attach a makeshift guard around the front of my feet because my chair wouldn’t cooperate with the ones they brought, but I didn’t care because I was going to get to play soccer!

We ran some drills, talked with the players, and then played a scrimmage game. I had no idea power soccer existed. Not only was it a sport I could actually play, but it was also a competitive one. I almost cried of excitement. I talked to one of the girls on the team, who ironically is now one of my best friends. She encouraged me to join a team and gave me a few pamphlets to bring home to my parents. I couldn’t wait for that though, I went back to the cabin that night and wrote them a letter with the pamphlet and mailed it to them. That fall, I joined my first team.

Photo Credit: Matt Amaro

For over five years I played power soccer. The only reason I don’t play right now is that there isn’t a team close enough to me. I’ve played on three different teams, I’ve been on a team that placed third in our bracket in the nation, I have traveled to different cities and states for competitions, and I have made several lifelong friends and memories. Power soccer is such an important sport. It supplied me with these opportunities, but it did more than that. It taught me how to work as a team. It also taught me leadership skills, skills I use to this day.

For those who don’t know about this sport, here’s a basic rundown: power soccer is played by individuals in power wheelchairs. It is played indoors, on basketball courts usually, and it is played four on four. There is a goalie and three players out “on the field.” Each player has a guard on their chair to hit the ball with, as well as to protect their feet. The ball is a 13" soccer ball. There are three referees per game, one on each sideline and one in the center where the action is. You can even get yellow or red cards for various offenses (yes, I have received one).

Power soccer has forever changed my life and the lives of many others. Yet, it is still a relatively unknown sport. Unless you, or someone you know, has played it, you’ve probably never heard of it. It’s an important sport that more need to know about though. Especially with an upcoming World Cup!

From July 5–9, 10 teams from around the world are competing in the World Cup. Check out the full schedule here. The competition takes place in Florida and Team USA will be joined by teams from Argentina, Uruguay, Canada, Ireland, England, Denmark, France, Japan, and Australia.

Team USA has won the last two World Cups: 2007 in Japan and 2011 in France. Want to see who wins this year but can’t make it to Florida? The games will be broadcast live! Check out the FIPFA website for more information!

--

--

Cait Marie
Coffee House Writers

Bibliophile, writer, Hufflepuff, and cookie enthusiast in pursuit of a BA in Forensic Psychology. Creator of Functionally Fictional: functionallyfictional.com