The Novel Part 1

Josephine Green
Coffee House Writers
2 min readNov 19, 2018

I had just completed my first novel, “Accused,” when the phone rang. It was my sister, “Russell, can you watch Anna for an hour? I’ve got to run to the store.” I could hear the desperation in her voice. I wondered why she just couldn’t take her with her, Anna was five, maybe my sister just needed a break. I sighed heavily into the phone which my sister knew was my hesitation. I didn’t really get along with kids. “Please!” she pleaded. Sighing once more, I caved and said, “Sure. Great, we’ll see you in half an hour.” I dropped the phone back down in its place. “What the hell am I going to do with a five-year-old for an hour?” I muttered walking back to my desk. I ran my fingers over the title page of my first born. I’d already found a publisher for her. I couldn’t wait until my book was published, this was the defining moment in my life. I decided to make some tea while waiting for my sister and my niece to arrive. It was a miserable day in Aspen, rainy and cold. While my tea was brewing I started a fire to warm the house up a bit. I was a bit nervous about spending an hour with Anna, I didn’t know how to entertain her. I’d never gotten married or had any children of my own. I really don’t feel very comfortable around children, I suppose that’s because I never could relate to them. Just then, the tea kettle whistled summoning me back from my thoughts. I walked to the kitchen to make myself a cup.

“Russell?” I heard my sister yell from the front entryway.

“Victoria, yes, come in,” I shouted back.

“Hi.” She said kissing my cheek. “Here’s all her things, some toys, juices, a snack.” “Bye, sweetie.” She said and bent to kiss her daughter goodbye.

“Thanks, Russell.” And with that, she left, and Anna and I stood in the entryway alone.

--

--

Josephine Green
Coffee House Writers

I live in New Jersey, in the northeastern part of the state. I have a cat named Daenerys. I don’t have any children and am unmarried but do have a boyfriend.