The Panic

Jessica Penhorwood
Coffee House Writers
1 min readAug 7, 2017
Photo Courtesy of StaticFlickr

A poetic look at anxiety and panic attacks.

Felt the flood gates

open wide, bursting through

my mind. Heart pounding,

it started happening.

How did I manage it

this time? I was doing so well.

Beads of sweat trickle,

I don’t want to be here.

My brain screams

- Run away! But I cannot,

in fear that it will show.

How did this happen again?

I don’t know. I pulled

the trigger somewhere.

I should probably figure

it out. But then.

Won’t I just wind up

here again? Running, racing

for my life. But

- nothing is trying to hurt me?

So why feel this way?

It’s fake- a false alarm.

I know this, but still-

my heart pounds faster.

--

--

Jessica Penhorwood
Coffee House Writers

I'm just a girl looking to make a difference in this world, one word at a time.