The Price You Pay When You Have A Pure Heart

Juliana Ruggiero
Coffee House Writers
4 min readFeb 12, 2018

Hey you,

Are you someone who has a heart so big that you give and are always there for others no matter what?

Are you that person who thinks you can trust anyone who comes into your life?

Are you that kind of girl who trusts everyone you meet? Well, you can’t. See, a person can look humble, nice and sweet on the outside. But on the inside, you don’t know…they might be hiding their true colors, waiting for the right time to show them. If you hang around with someone like that, be careful. There is a chance the friendship will blow up in your face.

Well let me tell you something honey, all this can be true. Unless you chose your friends wisely, then you’ll be fine.

Let me say; I have a heart like yours. I give to everyone before I give to myself. I’m there for everyone no matter what’s going on in my life.

Having a trusting friendship blow up in your face has happened to me and let me tell you, it sucks. It’s the worst feeling ever when a friendship explodes right in your face.

If you have or haven’t been in one of those three situations, here’s something you need to know. You must prepare for them. If not, they can blow up like a bomb and hurt you and others involved. It can cause you to have trust issues about who your friends and who to get close to on social media. So, keep this in mind if you want to avoid getting hurt. This happens a lot to people who have pure hearts.

I knew someone in high school (I was a senior, and she was a junior) who I thought was my friend. Heck, I thought we would become close friends, close enough to call her my un-biological sister (Yeah, our friendship felt like that).

What happened is, I denied her coming over to stay at my house for the weekend, for like I don’t know, the 300,000th time. Over the summer another friend of mine was staying over. My un-biological sister decided to randomly send me a PM on Facebook, “Oh, I thought you were my friend… you always say, yes, to me about coming over.”

I told her those 300,00 times; I had family things to take care of, and I couldn’t have anyone over.

Apparently, she wasn’t buying it. Her mother took over on her daughter’s Facebook account. She sent me this long paragraph. She told me stupid stuff like, her daughter was crying and is upset, and she feels like she has no friends. She went on tell me how much her daughter likes my family and me. She ended her long message by saying,” It’s ok, my daughter will not talk to or bother you anymore.” She pretty much defended her daughter knowing how her daughter treated me like I was nothing the whole time. It turned out my friend’s family only wanted my friendship for money, food and a place for her daughter to hang out on the weekends.

When I graduated from high school, my ‘un-biological’ sister made me feel like, “you're not gonna be here anymore, so I’m gonna treat you terribly.” So yeah, that’s what I mean by friendships blowing up in your face and the person showing their true colors.

So, the example above just proves my point of not trusting just anyone you meet; you can’t anymore! There are some sick, cruel people in the world and no one should be taken advantage of, no matter who they are or how they look. I don’t care what anybody says, that’s the truth!

Please, if you’re someone like me, someone with a warm, tender heart. Do yourself a favor and get rid of those friends who put you down and take advantage of you. You don’t NEED that negativity in your life, sister! Find people who will lift you up, support you. Friends who will cheer you on in everything you do and will be there for you even on your hard days. Don’t surround yourself with low life losers who will do everything they can to put you down! Surround yourself with positive people!

Your heart is too pure and deserves to be valued, not destroyed. The best kinds of friends are the ones who truly show they want you in their life. Keep those friends close, and let the jealous, negative ones go! You know what they say, “Haters are gonna hate.” But you, as the better person need to walk away and move on.

Photo Credit: Full Circle Fitness

--

--

Juliana Ruggiero
Coffee House Writers

A young writer who strives to spread her positive and inspiring message one story at a time.