The Quiet Hours

Jessica Niziolek
Coffee House Writers
1 min readSep 2, 2019
Photo by: Philip Justin Mamelic, pexels.com

I wait for you in quiet hours

and in the twilight too.

The melody of ringtones

around me fill the air-

a ping of messages

Telling your arrival.

And this,

as close as I can get

without the brush of

breath that fills the air

or hugs

which immerse me.

Wrapping in your warmth and scent

and still, I wait for you.

In the quiet morning hours and in

And the early evening.

Sometimes I struggle while I wait.

And this leaves such an ache.

That I am convinced my heart will bruise

If my fingers touch.

Some wait in the glow of fire for their love to come.

I wait in the glow of a screen,

the light of cellphones.

This is as close as I can get

Without your brush of breath

Or your arms around my chest

Which immerse me.

Wrapping me in your warmth and scent

And still, I wait for you.

--

--

Jessica Niziolek
Coffee House Writers

Disability advocate, a creative, blogger, podcast host, poet