The Reaper’s Harvest ©

Ernesto Cordova
Coffee House Writers
2 min readOct 30, 2017
Photo Courtesy of Pixabay

I am the reaper of the weak, a harvester of the maddened ones; you are mine!

I will give you a new life; destroy your feeble mind and corrupt your soul.

I turn you all into the shadow; I dwell here, now deep in you.

Submit to the darkness I am; I will grant your true desires.

The bringer of light can’t hold the candle, in my darkened steps that I tread.

Ever so loud, you will never hear me coming; I will devour your being.

I will douse the light in you, and take it for mine; it is what I feast upon.

You will know me! The bringer of no joy, to your days; the night is mine to roam.

I look for the weak of mind; I bring on more pain, for the life you now live.

We laugh at you all; running around like lamb, to be fodder for new darkness.

The voices come to me; telling me to destroy, devour you to nothing.

The mirror tells no lies; I can’t mistake myself for who looks behind my eyes.

He tries to live vicariously; in me always, making it hard to be the me I know.

I have a witch that haunts my nights; making it difficult to die with the price I give.

Don’t take away my mental health, it is my sanity, holding me back from you.

Oh, my dear, how I long to taste your sweet flavor of light; in my darkest hour.

I say fuck it to all; I devour you in a heartbeat, just to satisfy this hollow inside.

Making me question my own existence? I must be one step ahead of you to win.

The power fills me, and wounds me; you all underestimate who I am.

A master of this cold, dank Shadow, that you all fear to fall into; I live here!

--

--

Ernesto Cordova
Coffee House Writers

I write “Shadow Poetry”. It is poetry from a dark mind; not necessarily evil, but mostly writings of a broken heart, broken love, and things that bring us fear.