The Unhealthiest Thing I’ve Ever Done Is Become Healthy Pt. 2

Riley Irwin
Coffee House Writers
2 min readApr 16, 2018
Photo Credit: Riley Irwin

You know, it makes me really sad to see so many posts about failed diets and work out attempts, and the unhappiness that has come with dedicating all of one’s time to this supposed “lifestyle.” *Anderson Cooper eye roll* Anyone who knows me well knows that this topic brings out a passion in me like no other. Because I was there. I remember what it was like. I still can feel all of the great memories I could have made. And even more, I can feel all of the memories I made that could have been greater if someone would have slapped some sense into me. I was saved before it was too late. I was lucky.

Look, there’s no such thing as a miracle diet. We all know that. Yet here we are, still cutting out fats, carbs, dairy — essential nutrition because someone scared us into believing they are bad for our bodies. I don’t think something deemed “essential” could possibly be harmful. What’s even more funny is the fact that we are able to ignore our biology lessons on cells, cycles, etc. and believe that we truly run on water and air. Nothing else.

Furthermore, the energy wasted on this never-ending quest to reach “perfect health” (oh shit I just said the h word!) is energy that can’t be given back. It’s exhausting. The time spent and pointless dedication involved in calculating exactly how much and what to consume is completely unnecessary. Focusing this much on one thing is what is truly unhealthy. Not only is the physical aspect of food important for our bodies, but the social aspect has an equal importance for our minds and emotional well-being. I mean think about it. Think about the joy sharing a pizza with your friends brings. Think about all of the holidays and birthdays where a meal is shared amongst your family. Think about the spontaneous trips to IHOP for some pancakes at midnight. These are moments we shouldn’t have to evaluate; these are moments that shouldn’t require us to endure guilt and hesitation because someone decided that certain foods are too many calories. It’s stupid. It’s draining. I know for a fact that when you’re on your death bed you’re not going to be regretting that froyo you had last Tuesday.

I could go on and on for a bit but with so much to say, I figured spitting everything out at once would be overwhelming to my 13 readers. For now, I leave you with these words.

It’s up to you what to do with them.

--

--

Riley Irwin
Coffee House Writers

I’ve found that living a life full of smiles and cups of chai tea lattes (don’t forget the almond milk) with a good pun every now and then is the best way to go