The Venom of Laziness

Molly Spence
Coffee House Writers
4 min readJul 15, 2019
Photo by Diego Madrigal from Pexels

One of the worst qualities a person can possess is laziness. When we choose to indulge in changeable behavior and fail to see it as concerning, that decision makes way for problems to arise in all areas of our lives.

Creators tend to succumb to the enticing nonchalant nature of their craft during certain moments of their careers; this can happen with anyone in any vicinity. What we do doesn’t inspire us like it used to, or we don’t evoke enough of a reaction within ourselves or others; creativity cannot exist without passion. A consistent work ethic cannot exist without drive. Faith cannot grow without prayer.

When we become lazy, every facet of our existence suffers. Our relationships become a dark, one-lane alley instead of a two-way street. Our needs become greater than our desires to achieve all that we can. Entitlement and the “woe is me” attitude begins to engulf our being.

The question is how do we stop the madness?

  1. Be Accountable- Society has become drenched with entitlement and that fact makes it easy for anyone to place the blame for what’s happening in life on past situations or someone else. While it’s true that childhood and various traumas play a role in our development as a human, that role is small in size. As adults, it is our responsibility to take accountability for what we can change: ourselves and our reactions. Refrain from wallowing in the past because it can create a storm in the sunshine of the future. I have found that laziness breeds the “woe is me” attitude. Get up and move!
  2. Make Sure You Are Not The “Toxic” One- I feel this point in my soul. I have played the toxic role in the vast majority of my relationships, and in my past, it has carried a hefty price tag. As I said earlier, we do bring in behaviors from our childhood, and traumas do affect us. Toxic behaviors are learned, however, it is our responsibility to begin to change them. The main characteristic of a toxic individual is that they seem to enjoy talking about their issues but avoid working to fix them. Laziness increases the prevalence of toxicity because sitting around doing nothing doesn’t allow the person to become the sole provider of fulfillment. Involvement in volunteer work and building a sturdy social circle outside of social media eliminates that. I am just seeing this attribute in myself for the first time and the realization has been eye-opening.
  3. Revive Dead Creativity- As someone who does not drive, writing soothes my soul. Laziness with my craft does set in from time to time, and nothing good ever derives from allowing myself to sit idle. Focus needs to be placed back on what works for someone; maybe someone is an artist who stopped painting, a singer who stopped performing, a dancer who stopped dancing. A Christian who stopped praying. Whatever the case, push through and get back to what brings life to the soul. No one was meant to just sit around and float through life. We all have talents and God wants us to use them for good. We are adults and are expected to act as such.
  4. Realize No One is Indebted To You- No one owes you their time if you aren’t willing to make changes in a relationship, friendship, or whatever it may be. They don’t have to be in your life. If a relationship drains the soul and feelings have been expressed and that person still doesn’t change, move on and pray for them. In experiencing this phenomenon on both sides during periods of my life, I understand this so much. I stay away from certain people who drain my soul and embrace my introverted nature. I’m learning to like lonely. You have to be okay with who you are in order to be a positive presence in others’ lives. I have realized that I have been a toxic person towards others in my life in my past as well. I accept and understand their departure and have been working towards not being that person anymore.

Yes, the great news is that change is possible. I have attempted various programs to try to rectify myself and have had trouble sticking with any of them. The truth is that it doesn’t take therapy to realize chosen laziness and viral toxicity reside in your hemisphere; if it has been an issue for some time, collective responses and patterns will make it evident that there is change that needs to take place. Change takes accountability and a single decision to rise up and live life just as much as everyone else. Realize childhood for what it was and move forward. Take away the child-like mind and access adult reason; those years are gone and cannot be changed. One cannot retrieve what they missed out on in those years. Move forward. To do so you must draw out the venom of laziness.

--

--

Molly Spence
Coffee House Writers

31 year old writer & blogger from Scott Depot, West Virginia. /