Top 10 Horror Movies Of All Time

Most of my favorite horror movies of all time, counting down to the number one best horror movie of this year! Could use this for a horror date night or some late-night binge watching!

Destini Febus
Coffee House Writers
4 min readAug 20, 2018

--

10. IT !

Photo Credits to Tom Roberts at Unsplash.com

Since I haven’t seen the original IT, I can only give the newest version it’s honest review. The new IT came out in 2017 and hit the charts, received 85 percent on Rotten Tomatoes and peaked my interest a ton! The suspense and gore weren’t as intense as I would’ve guessed at first, but still a great movie.

9. The Blair Witch Project

Photo Credits to Cristian Grecu at Unsplash.com

I am a huge fan of All Blair Witch Project movies, (the original made in 1999, Part 2 in 2000 and the most recent one in 2016). They’re all well made and hard for me to decide which one I favor over the other. Each one has a spin to it and so much suspense which makes it a fantastic horror movie.

8. The Shining

The Shining will always be a classic movie that still scares the poop out of my pants! The suspense, gore, and mystery that lies within this story-line is great for a movie made in the 80s.

7. Thir13en Ghosts

This movie will always have a special place in my heart. Why, for the sole purpose it’s terrifying, gory, and a mystery all in one. The strategy they used to make this movie makes it suspenseful, comical and all the while frightening! 100 percent on my Rotten Tomato scale!

6. The Purge

The Purge series has always caught my interest mostly because it plays into social roles in todays society. For example, people would definitely take advantage of this specific day and rules if it were real.

5. Insidious

Photo Credits to Sebastian Stam at unsplash.com

I have always had a deep love for the Insidious series. I’ve always enjoyed hearing and watching movies and documentaries dealing with ghosts, paranormal. How/why they exist which is why I’ve taken a massive liking to this series. The film plays in on many factors- love, paranormal, conspiracy, hate, and mystery! Such a good watch!

4. Silent Hill

Photo Credits to Dmitry Ratushny at Unsplash.com

Ugh! I get chills thinking about this movie! It is narrowing down to the gore and horror for this article! Silent Hill’s many monsters, creations, and gore mix well with their suspense and non-stop heart dropping moments. It all makes for a fantastic movie! If you haven’t seen Silent Hill- Watch it!

3. The Jigsaw Series!

All the Saw movies are my favorite gore and mystery movies! Between not knowing who the killer is, what the next room holds, who will die next and why is this happening to each person- it all makes for such an intense movie! Especially since James Wan (Director), made back-to-back movies with unbelievable suspense, gore, and mystery which are my all-time favorites! I’ve watched all the Saw movies at least five times over!

2. The Exorcist

The Exorcist must be the most gruesome, gory, intense and devastating movie I have ever watched. The language, the self-play scenes is so heavy and deep considering this is a little girl going through such an intense time for everyone throughout the movie. It’s challenging to portray in words, all I can say is if you like gore, foul language, and horror- this movie is for you.

1. A Quiet Place!

Photo Credits to Kristina Flour at Unsplash.com

The movie may not be as gory, horrific as the other movies, but this will always be my number one pick for a scary movie! It’s suspenseful, detailed, horror-filled. It has an incredible monster that plays in so little, but terrifies so much!

John Krasinski will always be my favorite actor, director, and producer! The way he developed the theory as his own.

John studied horror movies for over a year and taught himself sign language. He dedicated everything to the film being perfect. It makes me feel he’s an amazing producer and director!

I’ve watched this movie about three times. I will continue to support John on this amazing path of creativity! If you ever get the chance to watch A Quiet Place, watch it and remember what I’ve said! Look for the amount of detail he has put into the movie, and you’ll catch what I mean.

--

--