Under the Moon in Bradenton, Florida

Luther Savage
Coffee House Writers
2 min readJul 25, 2017

Is it possible to feel connected with someone who is deceased? She gave birth to me as a teenager, and was murdered by a drunk driver, still a teenager. I met her family and her memories in my thirties. She has, by some mystery, been with me all along. R.I.P. Kim Hobbs (1962–1981)

Photo Credit: Vicki Newville

I found your ghost

among your family and friends

in Bradenton

I’ve never felt so close

to a story already at book’s end,

and I thought of you when:

I drove past a crime scene with one who had departed like you

In a city full of addiction and grief, it was the drunk who killed him too

I stood with my toes in the beach sand at midnight, in the park

In a photoshopped city of beauty, you were dwelling in the dark

playing your Zeppelin tune

under the Bradenton moon

Photo Credit: Luke Savage

I felt your free spirit in every

sharks tooth necklace

song during breakfast

stroll on the beach

chance just out of reach

Your presence dwells in the artwork in downtown Bradenton

Though you’ve lovingly haunted me here in Michigan

In life and death, you’re where I’m at, and where I’ve been

In grief, in glee, in the stars, in the trees, and in my heart again

You were always and never my mom

Always never there for me, always looking on

You left me but never left me, I know you’re looking at your son

On the streets, under the moon, in Bradenton

Photo Credit: Luke Savage

If you enjoyed this poem, you may also enjoy Luke Savage’s ‘My Life, My Death’ — available in paperback and digital here

--

--