Why Autumn Inspires Me So Much In My Writing

Katy Fann
Coffee House Writers
4 min readNov 26, 2018
Pexels.com

Ever since I can remember, I have dreamed of one day becoming an author. I have been inspired by many things along the way. One of those inspirations is nature.

Of all the seasons, autumn is my absolute favorite. I’ve always loved this time of year, even as a kid. I don’t know what it is about this season, but it makes me feel so excited and energized. And, it has a profound effect on my writing. This season has become so intertwined in my writing journey, which is why fall holds such a special place in my heart.

The Scents Of Autumn

I was one of those kids who loved the first day of school. The time when summer ended and the new season began was always one of excitement for me. I assimilate smells from that time to this season. Can you remember those scents that came during those first few weeks of school? The crisp air, the weather cooling down, those all remind me of that time. Every year, I look forward to experiencing those scents.

You better believe that I fill my home with tons of autumn scented candles. (My local Yankee Candle shop loves me.) Fragrances have a soothing effect on me. They make me feel cozy and inspired. I can’t pinpoint what it is, but I become more energized and creative when I’m exposed to these scents.

When I take a walk or enjoy the scent of a candle, I find myself coming up with ideas for my writing or logging more words on my current work in progress. There’s a fantastic connection there, and I thrive on it.

Autumn’s Natural Beauty

If seeing the bright, bold colors of the changing leaves outdoors doesn’t make you happy, I truly feel sorry for you. In an age where technology is a huge part of our lives, there are so few organic experiences we can truly enjoy. The changing leaves during fall are one of those incredible experiences that simply can’t be beaten. It’s just so damn beautiful. I could never get tired of enjoying these views.

When I first began committing myself to my writing in 2007, I used to walk a lot. I would walk for inspiration and for a bit of exercise. The time when I did this that still stands out in my mind is during the fall of 2007. I had been attending community college and working a part-time job. I had a good amount of free time, and I would go on walks at least 4–5 times a week.

Stories were always on my mind. During these walks, I was alone with just my thoughts. I came up with so many ideas for my current work in progress and for other projects. I can remember the beauty of changing leaves and inspiring scents of fall nature. I continue to remember and try to recapture the feelings I get when I would take these walks.

My Main Character Is Named For My Favorite Season

The novel I am currently working on is one that I have invested the most time in. I’ve worked on other novels here and there, but this one is a big one. It’s a series. I have pages and pages and pages of notes. I’ve poured so much time and energy into creating these characters and this place. It’s my book baby!

I’ve infused quite a bit of myself into the main character. Don’t get me wrong, she’s not a spitting image of me, nor does her life play out like mine, but there are some pieces of me within her. Her name is Autumn. I wish I could say that I remember exactly the moment I created her name, but I can’t. It likely just came to me. But I do have some guesses as to where it came from.

As I mentioned, I used to take walks and would find inspiration for story ideas. I can remember the exact moment I came up with Autumn’s story. I remember the house I was standing in front of. I remember what it looked like outside (it was fall, big surprise!). I remember what TV series inspired the thought. Without my realizing it, the name Autumn probably came to me because of how in love I was with my surroundings when I thought of her story. It might seem like a bit of a reach, but it’s a thought that I kind of love!

NaNoWriMo During November

How perfect is it that NaNoWriMo occurs during fall? While I have participated in Camp NaNo, this November is my first NaNoWriMo. Writing 50,000 is a huge undertaking for me, but I am so motivated to get it done. I have been using the season to my advantage and immersing myself in all things fall to help ignite my creativity. While I’m not exactly where I would like to be, this strategy has helped the words to flow, and I’ve been logging those words like a champ on days I immerse myself in nature.

--

--

Katy Fann
Coffee House Writers

Author, Blogger, Content Writer, and Social Media Expert