Melodies of Magic: for King & Country

Seth Williams
Coffee & Oceans
Published in
3 min readOct 15, 2018

--

Years ago I worked at a company in Nashville with a couple dudes named Josh and Luke. Turns out they’re brothers. I quickly took a liking to these fellas. They were just really good guys.

I’ll never forget one day when Luke mentioned to me that he was in a band with one of their other brothers, Joel. Luke would send me rough songs on Instant Messenger and ask for honest feedback. As soon as I heard the first tracks, I knew I was listening to something different, something special. I started cranking their tunes at top volume in my car and sharing them with close friends. I had no idea at the time how much their music would influence me and the rest of the world one day.

Turns out Joel and Luke are the brothers that make up the band, For King & Country, now one of my absolute favorite bands on the planet.

In a world that is consumed by music that can unfortunately be incredibly disrespectful to women and people in general, For King & Country sing lyrics of love, respect, and honor. Their melodies are powerful and beautiful and their lyrics inspire me with a passionate fire.

This band has become the band of our family. Their music rings off the walls of our home and into our hearts. My wife, Kelly, and I listen to them on repeat at all hours of the day. I recently introduced Kelly to their new song, “Fight On, Fighter” and it has now been played a couple hundred times in our home and car. She even said it’s going to be her anthem during and after the delivery of our new daughter in December.

Fight on, fighter
Don’t let anyone steal your fire
Fight on, fighter
The Spirit is alive inside ya

Our daughter, Story, and son, River, often ask to listen to them and belt out their lyrics in our car. When Story was around three years old, I would dance with her to their song “Shoulders” on a nightly basis before bed. And minutes after our son, Wilder, was born, I read some of their lyrics over him, as they had greatly inspired his name and spoke of God’s amazing love.

I have also had the great honor of doing design work for the band. It’s a dream and a great pleasure to get to do what you’re passionate about for one of your favorite bands. And even beyond their music, these are next-level kind of guys. They inspire me to love God, my wife, and my kids. Their message is refreshing and life-giving. They ignite my soul and make me smile. They make me feel like I’m a million miles above the moon.

I can’t say enough how much I love this band. They are truly a special gift to this world.

Here’s the music video of their new song, “Burn the Ships.” It’s my favorite on the album. Enjoy.

--

--

Seth Williams
Coffee & Oceans

Lover of Jesus. Husband to Kelly. Father to Story, River, Wilder, & Scout. Designer. F1 fan.