Techtalk S01.e03 (June 15, 2016)

Hieu Pham
Coffee Techtalk
Published in
3 min readJun 18, 2016

--

This week we had a meetup in Cong caphe near my office. Great place, pretty good wifi and hot tea in a 41 degree C day. We got AC, of course.

Agile vs. Scrum

A dev guy told me that

“I prefer Agile. I don’t like Scrum at all”

-( I told myself) Damn... It’s like saying I prefer rice, I don’t like fried rice.

Do I understand it the wrong way?

Quora - Which Agile methodology (Scrum, Lean, XP, Kanban) is considered the best practice and why?

Using Codeship as CI

I use Bitbucket for source code version control in my project.

In order to have more time to doing nothing, I was looking for a way to automate the process of deployment and CI was definitely the keyword in this case. I tried Jenkins, but I don’t want to allocate any resources to take care of the CI server so I chose CodeShip. I’m pretty happy with what CodeShip can do.

Our story can be as short as

As a person in charge of deploying our web application to various of environments, I should be able to deploy the app by simply clicking the Accept Pull Request button on Bitbucket.

I’m coming back in more details about this in a separate post.

Dive in to System Architecture

Chu Quang Tú recommended me taking an online course about AWS and stuffs like that. At first I was a little bit confused because, well, I’m a front-end guy, why the hell should I care about the back-end stuffs? He explained nothing other than “It’s worth it”. And yeah, here’s the course he has been taking for weeks

MacPass to save our *ss

For those who have been storing server passwords in plain text files (including me +_+).

AngularJS 1.x in ES6? Why not?

Homework

From this week we’re gonna give a list of highly-recommend books. Most of the books below are suggested by Chu Quang Tú

[1] Clean Code: A Handbook of Agile Software Craftsmanship

[2] Design Patterns Explained Simply

--

--

Hieu Pham
Coffee Techtalk

I'm a Frontend Engineer in Singapore. I might care about user experience more than your UX designer · https://hieugoesto.com